Removing Bike Grease

removing bike grease

Excuse: “I hate getting dirty and covered with grease.”

chainguard

It’s not often that I get to ride my bike to work events these days. However, recently, I had the chance. There I was in my sweet new pants, cruising along in the beautiful weather, when my pant leg did two quick revolutions in the chain. Great. The rest of the ride was spent lamenting not using my (Jandd) ankle strap. I surveyed the damage upon arrival. The pants were not ripped and the marks were all contained to a small area (I’ll thank the Boda Boda chainguard for minimizing the damage – usually it prevents things like this from happening). Fortunately, the first row of the audience was close enough that nobody was looking at the bottom of my pants.
Jando StrapOf course, I’m taking the opportunity to share a few tips and tricks I’ve learned along the way for tackling the challenge of bike grease where it is not wanted.

Grease on Fabric:
– Treat immediately! I’ve made the mistake of waiting more often than I’d like to admit. However, the sooner you act, the easier and more likely it is that you’ll get all the grease out.
– Pre-Treat: I’ve seen a number of recommendations for pre-treating options. One of the most common seems to be dish soap, which is what I used on my pants. Let the pre-treatment sit for an hour if possible – but don’t let it sit too long. As always, test in an inconspicuous area.
– Wash as warm as possible.

removing grease Grease on Hands:
– Grab some dish soap get scrubbing. You can also try olive oil and sea salt.

Of course, I’m not the only one that’s had to deal with the inevitable experience of getting bike grease where it isn’t welcome. Here are a few other resources to try:

What about you? Any tips or tricks for getting rid of unwanted bike grease?

Remember, if you’re seeing a video at the bottom of this post, it was not put there by me as part of this post. This is an advertisement that WordPress puts there so I can keep blogging for free!

 

Leave a Reply

